Sunday Afternoon Jazz

21 Aug

Jazz has never been prominent on my music radar. In fact, for years when I heard the word I’d think of this sketch courtesy of The Fast Show…

 

But overtime I’ve had that perception changed ever since I read Jack Kerouac’s ‘On the road’. So when I saw  Gilles Peterson’s Jazz Special on iPlayer this Sunday afternoon I had to give it a go, who better to take me on a journey through the world of Jazz?

Two things struck me during the two hours: firstly that the Stacey Peralta’s son (Austin) has become a jazz composer and a great one at that! Secondly was my discovery of Jazz’s profound influence on hip-hop; as Gilles drifts between the various strands of the genre in his opening mix, you can distinguish the elements that have been used and altered to make great hip-hop tracks. Here’s one I think sums this up particularly well…

 

And if you’d like to check out the Jazz Special, just click here.

2 Responses to “Sunday Afternoon Jazz”

  1. Ahmed August 21, 2011 at 22:07 #

    That Fast Show clip was hilarious! And thanks for posting, “We Rep Brooklyn”…honored that you chose that as an example out of the many amazing songs featured on that show ;o)

    • alexjuddz August 22, 2011 at 09:30 #

      Thanks man! Not at all, love the track. Great to hear from you!

Leave a Reply

